Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Review

Standard

Well I have been MIA for awhile, but I am back and quite recently I have been catching up on ABC’s Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. I will be honest I tried watching awhile back and wasn’t impressed. Then not too long ago I decided to give it another chance and I am so glad I did

As long as I can remember I have been a huge comic book fan, especially Marvel (Spider-Man is one of my all-time favorite superheroes). So when it was announced they were going to start setting up a Marvel Cinematic Universe, I was very excited. I have seen all of the Marvel films to date, and there have been some good ones (Iron Man, Thor, The Avengers, Age of Ultron, Captain America 1-3, Ant-Man, Guardians of The Galaxy, and Doctor Strange and there have been some bad ones (Iron Man 2, Iron Man 3 and Thor 2). After The Avengers was released it was announced that Joss Whedon was developing  a show that focused on the Marvel task force S.H.I.E.L.D. I was excited at the idea of focusing on what S.H.I.E.L.D. was doing behind the scenes while The Avengers and other MCU heroes were busy saving the universe from numerous threats.

Like I said I tried watching the show, but I couldn’t get into it. The show had no direction and it got boring to me. Then the HUGE twist from “Captain America: Winter Soldier” was tied into the show’s story-line and then things kicked up a notch!

The show really gets good mid-way through the first season and things get very interesting and exciting in the second season. Clark Gregg reprises his role as Agent Phil Coulson who appeared in “Iron Man,” “Iron Man 2,” “Thor,” and “The Avengers,” and he is just as good as he was in the Marvel films, and he was a great choice to lead this Marvel TV series. He is a beloved character and it’s great to see his character make a return even if he may never appear in the MCU again considering how The Avengers know he was killed.

The show focuses on Agent Phil Coulson assembling a team of S.H.I.E.L.D. agents who work together to stop all sorts of different threats. The whole cast is great and Chloe Bennett is great as Skye and she gets some interesting character development near the end of season 1 and throughout season 2. Ming-Na Wen is awesome as kick-ass Agent Melinda May who can hold her own and is a weapons expert and is a reliable and valuable asset to the team. Grant Ward (Brent Dalton) has an interesting arc, and Brent Dalton is great in the role and really does well playing the different facets of the character.

Currently I am on season 3 and it’s still amazing. I could go on and on about the show and the characters, but I don’t want to spoil anything. Joss Whedon is really great with television shows and writing for multiple characters and making them all feel relevant, which is why I think The Avengers was a good movie. If you haven’t I also recommend watching Buffy The Vampire Slayer and Angel

If you like the Marvel movies, action, sci-fi or are just a fan of Joss Whedon I highly recommend Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D!

What say you? Have you seen Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D? Are you getting tired of the superhero genre? Whatever your thoughts let me know!

p.s. I have not seen season 4 so please no spoilers I am catching up!

Leave a Reply

