My Top 5 Most Anticipated Films of 2016

Standard

Well 2015 is now over folks and some good movies were released, but 2016 looks to be a good year for movies. There are a few that I am especially looking forward to in 2016. Here are my Top 5 Most Anticipated Films of 2016..

5. Kung Fu Panda 3 (January 29, 2016)

kungfupanda3-600_size3

Kung Fu Panda 3 is the sequel to the 2011 film Kung Fu Panda 2 and focuses on our Panda protagonist Po (Jack Black) as he meets his biological father (Bryan Cranston) and discovers his Panda heritage. All the meanwhile a new villain named Kai (J.K. Simmons) threatens China and Po must turn a band of Pandas into Kung Fu fighting pandas.

I enjoyed the last two films even though Kung Fu Panda 2 was okay, and the first one is still the best in my opinion. I love Jack Black and am looking forward to seeing him return as the lovable but clumsy hero, and to see Bryan Cranston play his father. This should be a fun movie, and I am very much looking forward to it.

4. Suicide Squad (August 5, 2016)

suicide-squad_0

Suicide Squad is based on the DC Comics Series and focuses on a group of criminals who are assembled by Amanda Waller (Viola Davis), a government official who uses them to carry out high risk black ops missions. The film introduces Jared Leto as The Joker and will be the third film as part of The DC Extended Universe.

I am really looking forward to this film because I am very interested to see what Warner Bros. and DC do to create their own film universe. Also Jared Leto as The Joker looks to be very very interesting and I cannot wait to see where he takes the character and how he portrays the character. I will definitely be marking my calendar for this film.

3. X-Men: Apocalypse (May 27, 2016)xmen1-xlarge

X-Men: Apocalypse is the sequel to the 2014 blockbuster film X-Men: Days of Future Past and focuses on Charles Xavier (James McAvoy) and his team of X-Men as they come against the most powerful mutant, Apocalypse (Oscar Isaac).

I used to watch X-Men: The Animated Series when I was a kid and Apocalypse was one of my favorite villains and I always hoped to see him on screen. Well the wait is over! I get to see Apocalypse on screen! (holds back squeals) The cast that made the last two X-Men films amazing is returning to bring us (hopefully) another exciting X-Men film. Michael Fassbender, James McAvoy, Nicholas Hoult, Jennifer Lawrence, Evan Peters and Lucas Till are all back along with new cast members Olivia Munn, Oscar Isaac, Tye Sheridan, and Sophie Turner.

Oscar Isaac has taken Hollywood by storm and I cannot wait to see how he portrays Apocalypse and I cannot wait to see James McAvoy and Michael Fassbender return as Professor X and Magneto! This looks to be an exciting film and I certainly cannot wait!

2. Captain America: Civil War (May 6, 2016)

Captain-America-Civil-War-Teams

Captain America Civil War is the third film in the Captain America series of films is loosely based off the comic event Marvel: Civil War and sees the return of Captain America (Chris Evans) and The Avengers. The Avengers are involved in an international incident that results in a lot of collateral damage causing the government to act and force all superheroes to be monitored by the government. This causes The Avengers to split into two factions: one led by Iron Man and the other led by Captain America.

I am REALLY looking forward to this film, having just read Marvel: Civil War, I cannot contain my excitement! I also cannot wait to see Spider-Man in a Marvel film for the first time and am eagerly awaiting to see Tom Holland’s portrayal and how he fits into the whole Marvel universe. Mark your calendars folks this one if going to be epic!

There were a lot of contenders for the number one spot, but I had to leave it open for one film and that film is…drum roll please

1.Batman V. Superman: Dawn of Justice (March 25, 2016)

Batman-V-Superman-Trailer-Wonder-Woman-Trinity

Batman V. Superman will finally bring us the fight I have been waiting to see on screen since I was a little boy and that is Batman going toe to toe with Superman!

Batman V. Superman: Dawn of Justice is a semi-sequel to 2013’s Man of Steel and sees Bruce Wayne/Batman (Ben Affleck) fighting Clark Kent/Superman (Henry Cavill) because he believes Superman to be a threat to humanity and one that should be dealt with immediately. Meanwhile Lex Luthor (Jesse Eisenberg) is clearly hatching some evil scheme in the background all while Batman and Superman are too busy beating each other to a pulp. Somehow this fight is going to result in the formation of The Justice League and bring Wonder Woman (Gal Gadot) into the fold.

This is my most anticipated film of 2016 for the simple reason that I cannot wait to see Batman fight Superman. I love how Batman looks and he reminds me of The Batman from Batman The Animated Series (probably one of the greatest cartoons ever made) which is something I honestly wasn’t expecting. Ben Affleck’s Batman looks like the Batman that you do not want to mess with and will knock out your teeth (see picture of Jared Leto’s Joker smiling, with caps on his teeth).

The only wild card here is Jesse Eisenberg’s Lex Luthor. Based on the trailers he looks eccentric and over the top but in a comical and silly way, maybe so people will not suspect he is hatching evil plans in the background.

Suffice to say I am very much looking forward to this film and seeing if Warner Bros. and DC have what it takes to bring us an exciting film that will create an interesting and fun universe that all fans can enjoy.

What say you? Do you agree with my list? Do you have your own list of your most anticipated films of 2016? Whatever your thoughts let me know!

 

One thought on “My Top 5 Most Anticipated Films of 2016

Leave a Reply

