My Thoughts on The 2015 Doctor Who Christmas Special: The Husbands of River Song

Standard

Well folks we are eight days away from Christmas, and believe it or not that means we have reached yet another Doctor Who Christmas Special! 

                    *WARNING SPOILERS AHEAD*

Here is a quick synopsis of the upcoming Christmas Special:

“It’s Christmas Day 5343, on the remote human colony of Mendorax Dellora, and the Doctor is hiding from Christmas carollers and comedy reindeer antlers. But when a crashed spaceship calls upon the Doctor for help, he finds himself recruited into River Song’s squad, and hurled into a fast, frantic chase across the galaxy ~ pursued by River’s new husband, his Infinite Majesty King Hydroflax of the Final Cluster. Will any of them make it out alive? And when will River Song work out who the Doctor is? All will be revealed on a starliner full of galactic supervillains, and a destination the Doctor has been avoiding for a very long time…”

This all sounds rather exciting and I think we need a fun festive Christmas Special, especially after that awful episode Moffat tried to call a season finale!

If you have been paying attention to the news as far as Doctor Who is concerned, you would know that The Doctor’s wife, River Song (played wonderfully by Alex Kingston) is returning in this year’s Christmas Special. 

Now let me just say that I am very excited about this, for many reasons. One being that I always wanted to see River interact with another incarnation of The Doctor other than 10 and 11, (although now it’s been revealed in a  Big Finish audio story “Dark Eyes” that she did in fact meet the 8th incarnation of The Doctor). 

Another reason being that I would love to see a new dynamic.  The Eleventh Doctor (Matt Smith) had a great dynamic with River Song and it was interesting because most of the time River Song knew more about The Doctor and he knew less about her. I also think Matt Smith had great chemistry with Alex Kingston, the flirting between them was hilarious! 

I think the dynamic will be quite different with Twelve (Peter Capaldi) because according to Steven Moffat, for the first time River Song will not recognize The Doctor! This can give us an opportunity to see how Twelve will interact with River knowing full well she does not recognize The Doctor or rather this particular incarnation of The Doctor. This affords Steven Moffat, and Peter Capaldi plenty of fun material, how would The Doctor act when someone he recognizes doesn’t recognize him? Also this Doctor is less approachable this time around, I mean he has lightened up a little bit but he is noticeably different since the last time River saw him and not just in appearance but personality as well. This interaction shall be interesting indeed.

I happened to just finish The Inbetweeners a few months ago, so it will be fun seeing Greg Davies again, he was so funny in The Inbetweeners and I am looking forward to him playing King Hydroflax who is supposed to be an idiot villain. I am hoping for a really hammy and goofy villain. The villain doesn’t have to be great because this is The Doctor and River Song’s story afterall. Let’s be honest here, people tuning in just want to see Twelve and River Song interact! 

The one thing that I find very intriguing about the synopsis is the final line “…and a destination the Doctor has been avoiding for a long time.” Could he be taking River to The Singing Towers and Derillium? Now before anyone says anything I am well aware that there were mini-sodes of Eleven and River that supposedly wrapped up that story-line with River Song, and that The Eleventh Doctor runs into a future version  of his current incarnation who hints that he is taking her to The Singing Towers, but what if Eleven couldn’t go through with it? What if he was too scared to do it then and puts it off?

Whenever I think about River’s line to The Tenth Doctor in “Forest of The Dead,” “Funny thing is, this means you’ve always known how I was going to die. All the time we’ve been together you knew I was coming here. The last time I saw you—the real you, the future you, I mean—you turned up on my doorstep with a new haircut and a suit. You took me to Derillium. To see the Singing Towers. Oh, what a night that was. The towers sang, and you cried. You wouldn’t tell me why but I suppose you knew it was time. My time. Time to come to the Library. You even gave me your screwdriver. That should have been a clue. There’s nothing you can do.”

When River says “you turned up on my doorstep with a new haircut and a suit,” I cannot help but think of Capaldi’s Twelfth Doctor, and maybe he is the one who takes River to those places before he gives her his modified Sonic Screwdriver!

Steven Moffat says he wrote this Christmas Special as a farewell, believing it was his last episode, so maybe he would do this to book end The Doctor and River Song story-line.” 

Either way I am very much looking forward to this year’s Christmas Special and I am loving Peter Capaldi as The Doctor bring on The Christmas Special and Series 10! 

 In case I don’t post anything until after Christmas, I hope everyone has a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! 

What say you? Are you looking forward to The Doctor Who Christmas Special? Are you excited to see River Song back? Whatever your thoughts let me know!

Leave a Reply

