Doctor Who Series 9 Trailer 1 Review/Reaction

Standard

Well if you are a nerd/geek or just follow Comic Con or Doctor Who, then you would be aware that the first trailer for Series 9 of Doctor Who was released on Thursday! I had a chance to see it (again and again) and I wanted to give my overall thoughts, impressions and possible theories as to what it means!

*WARNING MAJOR SPOILERS AHEAD*

Okay first off let me just say “Permission to Squee!!!!” I have been waiting for a trailer for Series Nine of Doctor Who since I heard they began filming back in January! Let me say I LOVED this trailer! It has so much going for it, a dark tone, the return of classic monsters, it seems the introduction of some new ones as well and of course Peter Capaldi returning as the Doctor!

If you have read any of my previous posts about Doctor Who, then you would know that I love Peter Capaldi’s take on the Doctor! He took a few episodes for me to really see him as the Doctor, but I love him now and he is definitely one of my favorites and is in my Top 5 Doctors! I think he gives such a nuanced performance. He is every classic Doctor (most notably 2,3,4, mixed with his own personality traits! Capaldi is able to capture the qualities, quirks and personality traits of previous Doctors while also putting his own stamp on the Doctor! It’s quite impressive!

While we’re on the subject, I have to say that I love how long Capaldi’s hair is and his constantly evolving outfits! I personally believe the Doctor should always have long hair, it adds to his craziness, eccentricity, and really captures the whole “Mad Man in A Box” persona.

So based on this trailer it seems like Twelve and Clara are comfortable around each other and Twelve even hugs Clara! So much for the whole “I don’t like hugs, it’s just a way to hide your face.” The Twelfth Doctor seems crazier this time around and more of an adrenaline junkie and really looks like he is enjoying life and being a time traveler.

doctor-who-season-9-trailer

    the Doctor sporting Ray Ban sunglasses

I am looking forward to seeing Capaldi’s Twelfth Doctor evolve and change and continue to develop like Matt Smith’s Eleventh Doctor did. Oh how could I forget?! How awesome was it seeing the Doctor rock out on guitar and sporting ray ban sunglasses?! My guess is he is either distracting someone or may need to use music to defeat an enemy, I cannot wait to find out what leads to him pulling out a guitar and rocking out! I love that scene too because it really pokes fun at the idea that the Doctor is so legendary and famous that he is a rock star! Haha

doctorwhoguitar

             the Doctor rocking out on the electric guitar

Clara seems to be in good spirits too after she almost left the Doctor for good in “Last Christmas,” which is very nice to see. Also I am very glad Clara is back because her and Twelve have a great dynamic and relationship and I want to see it evolve and grow. Twelve isn’t ready for a new companion just yet, he needs to find himself first.

Supposedly the Doctor is going to make a decision that is going to have “cataclysmic” consequences, this straight from The Twelfth Doctor’s mouth himself the amazing Peter Capaldi! That really intrigues me because he proclaimed in Deep Breath “…I’ve made many mistakes and it’s about time I did something about that.” So what is the choice that he makes that will have such dire consequences? Only time will tell and I cannot wait to find out!

Last but not least, right when it seems like the trailer is ending we see Maisie Williams (best known as Arya Stark from HBO’s Game of Thrones) interacting with the Doctor and the Doctor says “You?!” to which Maisie Williams reacts “What took you so long old man?” :O! Who is she?!!!! My theories so far are one she is Susan Foreman (the Doctor’s grand-daughter) regenerated, because they never established whether or not Susan could regenerate. Two she is that girl Lorna Bucket who dies in “A Good Man Goes to War,” who said she met the Doctor when she was a little girl, but The Eleventh Doctor doesn’t recognize her. Third it is another regeneration of River Song, one we didn’t know existed! Finally it could just be a red herring and she could be a Time Lady that the Doctor knew on Gallifrey!

Suffice to say I am very much looking forward to the Series 9 premiere of Doctor Who and cannot wait to see Capaldi continue to own the role of the Doctor! Doctor Who returns on Saturday September 19th and it cannot come soon enough! The Attack Eyebrows are back baby!

What say you? Did you see the trailer and if so what did you think? What do you think of Peter Capaldi’s take on the Doctor? Do you like it? What are your theories about what is happening in the trailer? Any predictions for Series 9? Whatever your thoughts let me know!

Leave a Reply

