Jack Reacher Quick Movie Review (9/10)

Standard

Once again I have been M.I.A. for awhile and I really need to get better at posting on here. I live in the Northeast and we just have been getting hit with snow constantly! A couple of weeks ago we had a pretty bad snow storm, so I was stuck inside and of course like any other normal person who wants to be productive I watched a couple of movies on Netflix haha. I finally had a chance to see Tom Cruise’s latest film Jack Reacher.

I have to say, despite Tom Cruise’s personal life and my firm belief that he is completely insane, I really have enjoyed him as an actor, he has established himself as a legitimate action hero. If anything Jack Reacher just solidifies this proving that not only is Tom Cruise an awesome action hero, but a total bad-ass, despite being vertically challenged.

JRHighRes1

“A homicide investigator digs deeper into a case involving a trained military sniper who shot five random victims.” -IMDB

Jack Reacher is a film adaptation of a series of books by author Jim Grant and focuses on the story of five random people who are shot by a trained military sniper in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Jack Reacher (a former soldier and now a drifter) finds out about what happened and arrives in Pittsburgh to help solve the case.

I can say without a doubt that Jack Reacher is one of the best action films I have seen. The plot is interesting, the characters are interesting, and there are hardly any dull moments if any. Now Jack Reacher isn’t perfect, but it does what it sets out to do, which is to get you engaged in the story and the characters and to care about what happens to the characters.

This is one of Tom Cruise’s best roles and this is one of the best and most interesting characters he has ever played. If you are looking for a fun action movie, with a good story and interesting characters, then look no further than Jack Reacher.

What I Liked:

The plot and the twists.

Jack Reacher, he was a pretty awesome character.

Robert Duvall, he is always enjoyable in films.

The action scenes, they were well choreographed and very impressive.

One particular scene that I won’t spoil, but it was so awesome it had me laughing pretty hard haha.

What I disliked:

The girl in the film, she was kind of annoying and quite frankly a little pathetic.

Overall I really enjoyed Jack Reacher!

MY FINAL RATING IS A 9/10!

What say you? Have you seen Jack Reacher? If so did you enjoy it? Do you think Tom Cruise is a good actor? Whatever your thoughts let me know!

4 thoughts on “Jack Reacher Quick Movie Review (9/10)

  1. I’m a big fan of the Jack Reacher novels and while I felt this film was pretty average as action films go, I still enjoyed it. Despite the clear physical differences between Tom Cruise and Reacher in the books, I felt Cruise still captured the essence of Reacher very well. Werner Herzog was also very good in the limited screen time he gets.

    In the scene where Reacher comments “The last two guys always run”, I remember thinking, “Cruise should know – that’s what happened at the end of Top Gun!”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cruise always surprises me with his taste in scripts. Vanilla Sky and Minority Report are favorites of mine, and it’s rare that he’s in a movie I really dislike. I tend to think of him as an sf star, although I know he’s done a lot of action shows too.

    Thanks for the review! I’ll recommend it to my Dad–it sounds like his kind of thing, too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

