My Top 15 Movie Soundtracks of All Time Part II

Standard

As I said in my previous post a film’s soundtrack can either make or break a movie. There are a lot of great movie soundtracks, but I’ve narrowed it down to 15! I’ve already done Part One which you can check out here https://screensage.wordpress.com/2015/01/15/my-top-15-movie-soundtracks-of-all-time/

Here is Part II of My Top 15 Movie Soundtracks of All Time!

interstellar

10. Interstellar (2014)

If you have read my review of Interstellar, then you know how much I loved this soundtrack! So it should be no surprise that it made its way to my list.

Composer Hans Zimmer once again collaborates with director Christopher Nolan in a story that takes place in the distant future and focuses on a widowed ex astronaut with two kids, who is struggling to make ends meet, while the Earth is slowly dying. Cooper (Matthew McConaughey) is recruited by NASA to pilot a spaceship along with another team of astronauts to travel to a galaxy outside our own to find a habitable planet for humans to colonize.

Hans Zimmer’s score is absolutely incredible and captures the wonder, mystery and excitement of space travel. The main theme has a very mysterious, haunting, but hopeful sound to it which really adds to the overall experience of the film.

Hans Zimmer incorporates an organ into his score, which you think would sound weird, but it works to perfection!

I love the soundtrack to Interstellar and it is definitely one of the best soundtracks of all time!

inception_poster031-e1273386966590

9. Inception (2010)

Inception is another collaboration of composer Hans Zimmer and director Christopher Nolan and one thing is for sure, they make a great team!

The score by Hans Zimmer is in your face and loud and bombastic, but it doesn’t ruin the experience of the film. In fact, it adds to the more intense, and suspenseful moments. Not only is this soundtrack one of my favorites, but Inception is also one of my favorite films.

My favorite track from the Inception soundtrack has to be “Time,” it has become so iconic and it’s so sad, but also hopeful. It really has a lot of elements that make it such an amazing track, adding to the viewing experience of the film. Suffice to say Inception has one of the best movie soundtracks!

Man Of Steel (2013) 3

8. Man of Steel (2013)

You’re probably thinking to yourself “Why is Hans Zimmer on his list so much?” Well the truth is I love Hans Zimmer and I think he writes a lot of great film scores and it so happens those scores made it to my list.

Man of Steel is another collaboration between composer Hans Zimmer and the brilliant mind of director Christopher Nolan.

Man of Steel is the reboot of the Superman franchise, and is the origin story of the D.C. character Superman.

A lot of people consider John Williams’ Superman theme to be the definitive Superman theme, but as much as I like that theme, I prefer The Man of Steel Theme.

Like the Superman theme, The Man of Steel theme has a lot of different elements to it. In the context of the film, Hans Zimmer’s theme captures the loneliness and pain that Clark Kent (Henry Cavill) experiences throughout his life. Zimmer’s theme also captures the feeling of Clark being an outcast, and not knowing what his life purpose is, but at the same time capturing how Clark is destined for greatness and will change the world for the better.

MKT_1358_HP7B_landingpage_ALL_t614

 7. Harry Potter (1-8)

Harry Potter has one of the best soundtracks! The score for Harry Potter was originally written by the great John Williams, but after that there were three other composers who took over!

The main theme captures the essence of discovering that you are part of something amazing, and wonderful, and really captures the wonder and excitement of living in a world filled with magic!

Voldemort’s theme is very foreboding and I remember when I saw Harry Potter back in 2001 it actually scared me a little haha.

Harry Potter has an amazing soundtrack and for that reason I thought it deserved to be on this list!

the_dark_knight_rises_trilogy_posters-550x450

6. The Dark Knight Trilogy (Batman Begins, The Dark Knight, The Dark Knight Rises)

Once again composer Hans Zimmer and director Christopher Nolan collaborate to create one of the best film franchises of all time and one of the best interpretations of the D.C. character Batman!

I love how The Dark Knight theme has this great build up and has this epic sound to it, and simultaneously captures the mystery and legend of Batman!

Hans Zimmer crafts a score that is so epic, bombastic, intense, speeds up and slows down exactly at the right moments  and really makes Batman seem like a total bad-ass! If I were a superhero, I would love to hear this when I was kicking into action!

Well this concludes Part II of My Top 15 Movie Soundtracks of All Time, Part III will be up shortly!

What say you? Do you agree/disagree with my list? What film soundtracks do you think I missed? What is your favorite film soundtrack? Whatever your thoughts let me know!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “My Top 15 Movie Soundtracks of All Time Part II

  1. Like part two of your list! Inception certainly seemed to capture the popular imagination. But boy was that score worth it! And the Harry Potters are pretty much beyond compare, even the non-Williams ones. Thanks again for posting this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

