My Top 15 Movie Soundtracks of All Time Part I

Standard

Here on my blog I like to review movies and TV shows, but I thought I would do something a little different. Now I love movies and TV shows, but I also love music. I love all types of music, but especially film soundtracks, and have an enormous amount of respect for film composers. A film’s soundtrack has the responsibility of either grabbing the audience’s attention or taking them out of the movie completely.

I can attest to the fact that if I am watching a movie and the soundtrack is mediocre, it takes me right out of the movie. Some film soundtracks can even make the film better than it has any right to be, a good example of this is with 2010’s Tron Legacy. The score by electronic band Daft Punk was absolutely incredible and really added to the overall experience of the film. There are a lot of great movie soundtracks, but I have compiled a list of the Top 15 Movie Soundtracks of All Time split into 3 parts! Here is Part I!

Tron-Legacy-Movie-Poster-tron-legacy-18093324-900-1034

15. Tron Legacy (2010)

Disney’s Tron Legacy was the sequel to the popular 1982 film, Tron, which continues the story of Kevin Flynn, who has been missing for over two decades. Kevin’s son Sam is on a mission to find out what happened to his father and ends up in the computer world his father created known as The Grid.

French electronic band Daft Punk wrote the score for this film and it is amazing! Daft Punk worked with a lot of different artists and composers, including Hans Zimmer! When you listen to the soundtrack you can hear elements of Hans Zimmer in there and it’s pretty cool. The music itself is a nice blend of retro and modern electronic music, along with some piano and strings which make the score sound so powerful and epic.

I think that Daft Punk should have been nominated for an Oscar the year this film came out, because the soundtrack was so innovative and different. I still find myself listening to it, it’s that good!

xmenfirstclass

14. X-Men First Class (2011)

X-Men First Class was a prequel/reboot of the X-Men film franchise directed by Matthew Vaughn and produced by Bryan Singer. Before I saw this film I had never even heard of Henry Jackman, who wrote the score for this film, but I will tell you one thing, I will never forget his name now!

Henry Jackman’s score for this film is fantastic, the main theme is so hopeful and uplifting but still manages to sound powerful and epic! The music throughout the film, especially the part where all the X-Men are training at Professor Xavier’s mansion, sounds very reminiscent of the music from the 90’s X-Men cartoon.

Magneto’s theme has to be one of the best villain themes ever composed, it sounds so dark and foreboding, and really captures the pain and anguish of Erik Lensher’s character. The theme is so loud and powerful and down right scary. This is another soundtrack I find myself listening to a lot because I enjoy it that much.

guardian-of-the-galaxy-poster1

13. Guardians of The Galaxy 

Guardians of The Galaxy is another film by Marvel Studios. This film focuses on a group of ragtag individuals who need to work together to stop an evil ruler who threatens the universe!

The music itself is a collection of classic songs, such as “The Pina Colada Song,” “Come and Get Your Love,” “Cherry Bomb,” and “Hooked on a Feeling,” to name a few. You would think that playing a bunch of classic songs in a sci-fi action film wouldn’t fit the film, but it does! The way the songs are used in the film is very creative and ingenious actually, kudos to director James Gunn!

I will admit I find myself listening to “The Pina Colada Song” a lot now because of this film haha.

spiderman2

12. Spider-Man (2002)

Spider-Man was Sony Pictures’ first attempt at bringing Marvel superhero Spider-Man to the big screen. It was directed by Sam Raimi and the score was written by Danny Elfman. The score is just simply amazing! Danny Elfman has been around for awhile and is probably most well known for composing the iconic Batman theme from 1989’s Batman. 

Danny Elfman does it again composing a great theme for Spider-Man that captures the essence of what it means to be a superhero, while also balancing a life with your family and friends. The theme itself is very heroic and powerful and captures the adventure, excitement and burden it is to be Spider-Man!

I love this soundtrack and find myself listening to “Main Titles,” and “Farewell,” a lot. I don’t think James Horner’s theme for Amazing Spider-Man can even compare to this one, nice work Danny, nice work indeed.

159062315_365ab0

11. The Matrix (1999)

The Matrix is one of the most ground-breaking films ever to hit movie theaters. The special effects used to show the manipulation of the physics inside the computer simulation world known as The Matrix were just phenomenal!

The score by Don Davis also added another element to the film giving it this sense of urgency, and really captured the mystery of the matrix itself. The opening theme with the loud horn is probably one of my favorite movie themes, it really gets you into the movie!

The score by Don Davis is intense, powerful, loud and foreboding at times, and fits the sci-fi world of The Matrix perfectly!

Well this concludes Part I of My Top 15 Movie Soundtracks of All Time! Part II will be up soon!

What say you? Do you agree/disagree with my list? What do you consider to be some of the best movie soundtracks? Whatever your thoughts let me know!

6 thoughts on “My Top 15 Movie Soundtracks of All Time Part I

  1. Good list so far! I remember seeing the Matrix for the first time and just hanging on to every element of it, including the music, like it was a revelation. I hadn’t noticed X-Men First Class’s score, except for some of the stuff going on behind Magnito’s scenes, which were exceptional. Guardians of the Galaxy was inspired, although I admit I fought it during the commercials and previews. I didn’t realize how integral the songs would be to the plot–I had thought they were just kind of smashed onto the footage, but luckily, I was wrong. I’m reading an Avengers collection right now that has a completely different crew for the Guardians, and what a different Star Lord! Not directly relevant, but it’s adding to my appreciation of the film. As is your post, so thanks again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks and I love The Matrix it blew my mind when I first saw it!

      Yea I heard that the current Guardians are completely different than the film versions. Isn’t Iron Man a member of the Guardians now?

      Thanks I appreciate that, I am always trying to come up with original posts :).

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think I spent about a year discussing the existential ins and outs of the Matrix online. Pretty funny.

    Actually, I’m reading an older collection–the ones where the Avengers and Guardians fight Korvac–so I’m out of the loop. I enjoy comics, especially Marvel, but I never really had access to them growing up. It’s good to finally dig in now.

    The lists you post are very handy, and I also love reading your suggestions for how a series should unfold. I see a lot of one-off suggestions, but few people take a full post to explore their concept.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

