Mid-Season Finales: The Good and The Bad

Standard

Well it’s that time again folks, the time where our favorite shows are on hiatus until January, February or even March! This past week a lot of shows aired their mid-season finales, but I’m just gonna talk about a few.

In my mind a mid-season finale has to have a great hook at the end or some kind of cliffhanger making the audience say “I have to wait until January to see how this plot-line is resolved?!” Now sometimes shows have these great cliffhangers, but they often have an ending that makes the audience say “Really? That’s it! Are you kidding me?!” This is how I view mid-season finales because I believe they have to deliver on either shocking the audience or leaving the audience wanting more or both. There were a lot of mid-season finales, but I’m going to focus on four, okay let’s talk about mid-season finales!

THE GOOD

greenarrow

Arrow

In the mid-season finale of Arrow, Oliver found himself facing Ra’s Al Ghul himself in a sword fight, and what happened next and how the episode ended shocked me! The Arrow mid-season finale was well paced and left me wanting more and it will be a very agonizing wait until January.

castle

Castle

In the mid-season finale of Castle, Richard Castle and Beckett tried to solve the murder of a mob doctor, and because of Castle’s involvement with a mob boss, Castle is told by Captain Gates that he is no longer permitted to work with the NYPD! What a shocker! This mid-season finale made my jaw drop and left me wanting more! I cannot wait to see where this goes next!

THE BAD

Supernatural_Season_10_Background

Supernatural

In the mid-season finale of Supernatural, Sam (Jared Padalecki) and Dean Winchester (Jensen Ackles) help out an old friend of theirs, Sheriff Jodi Mills. Sam and Dean find themselves in quite a predicament, and Dean is left trying to fight off three or four guys. Sam and Jodi enter the house to find that Dean has slaughtered all four of the men. Sam is visibly disturbed by this and it is clear that The Mark of Cain is turning Dean into a blood-thirsty killer. I loved the ending, but the overall episode was pretty dull for a mid-season finale, especially since a villain hasn’t really been revealed. I’m guessing Dean is this season’s villain. Despite this disappointing mid-season finale, I’m still looking forward to the rest of the season.

once-upon-a-time

Once Upon a Time

In the mid-season finale of Once Upon a Time, Emma tries to help Elsa and Anna return to to their home world of Arendelle, but meanwhile Mr. Gold (Rumpelstiltskin) is trying to free himself of his dagger and leave Storybrooke with Belle. This mid-season finale had its moments, but overall I was expecting more. I was not that impressed with the mid-season finale, and was expecting a big twist. Hopefully the second half of the season will surprise and shock me and throw some twists in there as well.

Well this concludes Mid-Season Finales: The Good and The Bad!

What say you? Do you agree with my choices? Were there any mid-season finales that disappointed you? Whatever your thoughts let me know!

Leave a Reply

