Fall TV: What’s Good and What’s Bad

Standard

There are a lot of new shows and a lot of returning shows this fall, and sometimes it can be difficult to decide what shows are worth your time and which are a complete waste of your time. That’s where I come in! I have a list of shows that are worth your time and ones that aren’t!

brooklyn-99-700x386.jpg-472789

Brooklyn Nine Nine (Fox) 

A comedy that focuses on a group of detectives and their new captain at the 99th Precinct of The New York City Police Department in Brooklyn New York. It’s a refreshing take on the procedural cop show, and is one of the funniest shows on TV. The show stars Andy Samberg (Detective Jake Peralta), Andre Braugher (Captain Ray Holt), Terry Crews (Detective Terence Jeffords), Melissa Fumero (Detective Amy Santiago), Stephanie Beatriz (Detective Rosa Diaz), Joe Lo Truglio (Detective Charles Boyle), and Chelsea Peretti (Administrator Gina Linetti). Adam Samberg is great as the lead in this comedy series and has amazing chemistry with Andre Braugher, who provides deadpan delivery, because his character is very serious all the time. Brooklyn Nine Nine is one of the best comedies on TV, that is consistently funny, with a great cast and great acting. Brooklyn Nine Nine is definitely worth your time.

castle

Castle (ABC)

A drama/comedy that follows a New York City Police Detective, Kate Beckett (Stana Katic) and crime novelist, Richard Castle (Nathan Fillion), who together solve crimes. The show has a great cast, and there is great chemistry between Stana Katic and Nathan Fillion. Nathan Fillion is perfect in the lead role as Richard Castle and he is such a fun and likable character. It’s awesome to see Castle and Beckett solve crimes together, and Castle ends up helping Beckett close over 100 cases because of his help consulting with the NYPD, using his experience and expertise from writing crime novels. Castle is a great show, with a great cast, and even seven seasons in doesn’t feel like it’s overstayed its welcome. Castle is definitely worth your time.

Constantine_TV_Banner-850x560

Constantine (NBC)

A supernatural drama that is based off the popular Hellblazer comic series. It follows John Constantine (Matt Ryan), an exorcist and master of the dark arts. He is damned to Hell after attempting to save a girl who was possessed by a demon and works as a supernatural detective, solving supernatural cases. I have only seen the pilot of Constantine, but this was one of the few shows where I wasn’t that impressed with the pilot. The production value and special effects are really cheesy, despite this show being on NBC. I wasn’t that drawn in after the pilot and think that The Flash and Arrow are better DC property television shows. Constantine is a waste of time, and NBC has a long track record of mishandling their shows, so I don’t see this show staying on TV for too long. If you are looking for a good show that deals with the supernatural and strange, I would recommend The CW’s Supernatural, which has a great story and interesting characters.

Gotham-2

 

Gotham (FOX)

Okay right off let me just say right off the bat (no pun intended) that I am a HUGE Batman fan. He is one of my all-time favorite superhero characters, and I just love the Batman universe, it’s so interesting. Now when I heard that FOX green lit a TV series that was going to be Pre-Batman, I’ll admit I was cautiously optimistic. I understand a lot of shows need time to grow, but it’s hard to watch a show when I don’t like the lead character. I have nothing against Ben McKenzie, I just don’t think he is the right person to play Jim Gordon. My other problem with the show is that they feel the need to have so many future villain cameos, which just feels too forced to me. The two saving graces with the show are the actors cast to play Detective Harvey Bullock and Oswald Cobblepot (The Penguin). Donal Logue and Robin Lord Taylor were very well cast in this show and their respective characters were the only ones I really cared about. It’s cool to see Bruce Wayne (David Mazouz) learning to conquer his fears, but it’s also frustrating because you know he is years from becoming The Dark Knight. Gotham may have potential, but I just cannot get past Ben McKenzie as Jim Gordon, and I would much rather re-watch Batman: The Animated Series, which I think is the best interpretation of Batman and the Batman universe. Maybe I’ll check Gotham out when it’s streaming on Netflix after the first season is over, but for now I think it’s a waste of time.

Well that concludes my list of Good and Bad Fall TV shows!

What say you? Do you agree/disagree with my list? What shows do you think are worth watching this fall? Whatever your thoughts let me know!

8 thoughts on “Fall TV: What’s Good and What’s Bad

  1. Thank you for the post! I’m a fan of Gotham, largely due to the two actors you pointed out, plus Sean Pertwee, Jon Pertwee’s son who plays Alfred. He has a fierceness to him that I’ve never encountered in the character before.

    Liked by 2 people

    • No problem! Yes Sean Pertwee is good too! I personally want to see him play The Doctor because I think he could pull it off. He really is fierce, I like tough Alfred, it’s refreshing. How do you feel about Ben McKenzie as Jim Gordon? Also I’m gonna post an article about the way I would tackle a Doctor Who Anniversary Special, which should be up shortly!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sean would completely rock as the 13th. He’s lovely. I’m not crazy about McKenzie, although he’s such a minimalist actor it’s easy to project almost anything on him. He doesn’t rub me the wrong way as he seems to with you, but then, I’m not familiar with all versions of Batman–specifically, I haven’t read the comics. It’s quite possible that I’d feel differently if I understood the source material better. Can’t wait to read your new post–thanks again for providing such fun content.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

