My Top Ten Animated Series Part I

Standard

I grew up watching a lot of great TV shows, and a lot of them were cartoons/animated series. So I thought I would compile a list of My Top Ten Animated Series, split into two parts! Here is Part I!

PART I

10. Batman Beyond (1999-2001)

From the mind of Bruce Timm, who gave us Batman The Animated Series came the sequel to The New Batman Adventures which ended in 1999. Batman Beyond saw the return of Bruce Wayne (voiced by Kevin Conroy) in a futuristic Gotham in the year 2039. This Bruce is much older and after almost getting killed on a mission, he decides to retire the Cape and Cowl for good. Enter seventeen year old Terry McGinnis (voiced by Will Friedle, Eric Matthews from Boy Meets World), who believes in justice and has lost a loved one to murder just like Bruce. Through a series of events, Terry meets an older, curmudgeonly Bruce Wayne and discovers his Batcave. Although at first angry, Bruce decides there needs to be a Batman to stop crime from spreading in Gotham and allows Terry to take up the mantle. Terry gets a cool Batsuit that has its own gadgets and even rocket boots! This Batman sequel was one of the best animated series made in the 90’s, filled with great stories,great villains and great voice acting. It also had one of the coolest theme songs! It was one of my favorite shows growing up and that’s why I have decided to put it at number 10, on my Top Ten List. Have a listen to theme song, it’s pretty cool!

korra1

9. The Legend of Korra

From the minds of Bryan Konietzko and Michael Dante DiMartino who gave us Avatar: The Last Airbender, came the sequel series The Legend of Korra. The show takes place seventy years after the events of Avatar and focuses on the new Avatar, a teenager named Korra who is a Waterbender. Unlike Aang, Korra has mastered Water, Earth, and Fire Bending, but struggles to master Airbending, and the spiritual side of being The Avatar. Although The Legend of Korra is not as good as Avatar: The Last Airbender, it is still an exciting, and fun show, with great characters and great story. Also the animation is just incredible.

XMen_Logo_Black_Mens_Tank_Top_POP

8. X-Men (X-Men: The Animated Series) (1992-1997)

Thinking of this show reminds me of the days when I used to come home from school and I would watch this on Fox at 3/3:30, I am a little fuzzy on what time it started. Anyways this was on back when all the superhero cartoon shows were popular, i.e. Batman: TAS, Spiderman: TAS, The Fantastic Four, and The Incredible Hulk. X-Men was a great show with great three dimensional characters, great story and great voice acting. The theme song was pretty cool too! I re-watched the episode “Days of Future Past” before the release of X-Men: Days of Future Past. The episode focuses on the mutant Bishop (who can absorb energy) and his quest to stop The Sentinels (mutant hunting robots) in the past before they become a threat to everyone. The animation can be a little dated nowadays, but the show is still entertaining and worth a watch. Here is the iconic intro, that is just the epitome of 90’s cartoons.

superman

7. Superman: The Animated Series (1996-2000)

From the mind of Bruce Timm, who gave us Batman: The Animated Series, The Adventures of Batman and Robin, and The New Batman Adventures, came the series that focused on The Man of Steel himself. The show was a little bit lighter in tone than Batman: The Animated Series, but was still a worthy companion to Batman. I loved the way they portrayed Superman and Clark Kent in this series and it still gets me that no one could figure out Clark Kent was Superman, I mean seriously?! Tim Daley (from the sitcom Wings) voiced Superman, and he was a good choice, he has the right voice for Superman, so it works very well for the show. Clancy Brown (Mr. Krabs from Spongebob, Kelvin Inman from LOST and the Kurgan from Highlander) voiced Lex Luthor, Superman’s archenemy and he has the most intelligent, yet sinister voice, which really works. Superman: The Animated Series had tons of iconic villains, including Lobo, Brainiac, Darkseid, and Metallo. It had a pretty awesome theme song too! Superman: The Animated Series was one of the best series made in the 90’s and is still worth a look, if you are a fan of Superman or just really good shows. Here is the intro with one of the most iconic theme songs.

Avatar_The_Last_Airbender_-_Ultimate_Team

6. Avatar: The Last Airbender (2005-2008)

Before Korra, there was The Last Airbender! Bryan Konietzko and Michael Dante DiMartino created The Avatar universe with this show and boy was it awesome! The premise is that almost everyone can bend an element, that is to say control and manipulate an element. There are four classes of benders: Air, Earth, Water and Fire. For centuries the four nations lived in peace, until the Fire Nation attacked and everything changed. Throughout time there has been an individual who is meant to bring balance to the world and has the ability to bend all four elements. In this series The Avatar is a twelve year old boy named Aang who is an Airbender. He is found frozen in a block of Ice by two Southern Water Tribe members Katara and her brother Sokka. He trains to master the three elements, Earth, Water and Fire and must save the world from The Fire Nation. I’m just going to throw this out there,The Last Airbender is by far one of the best shows ever made, it has an amazing story, amazing characters and amazing animation. The voice acting is great and the way the animation is done when a character bends an element looks so flawless and beautiful. You can tell the animators put a lot of effort into this series and it shows. If you are looking for a good TV show to get into, or are just looking for an exciting show, then look no further than Avatar: The Last Airbender.

Well this concludes Part I of My Top Ten Animated Series, Part II will be up shortly! How about you, what are your favorite animated series? Whatever your thoughts, let me know!

4 thoughts on “My Top Ten Animated Series Part I

  1. Great choices particularly Batman Beyond and Superman. Both of those excellent DCAU shows I feel are often overlooked in favour of Batman TAS. I mean I would agree that Batman TAS is the best one but still its a shame Superman and Batman Beyond are so overlooked.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I know, Batman Beyond is an amazing show in its own right, and is a great continuation of Batman. Superman TAS is great too and it is a real shame both shows are overlooked. I think a lot of people think Superman is a lame superhero haha. I grew up watching Batman TAS, so I was definitely biased in my decision to make it Number One haha, but that had such a great story, great music, great animation and voice acting, so I had to make it Number One!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah Batman TAS is I think a part of every 90’s babies childhood. Mark Hamill was the best Joker IMO. My favourite DCAU anything film or animated series has to be Batman Beyond Return of the Joker. Mark is so creepy in that “I’ll begin with how I peeled back the layers of the boys mind” yeesh I get the creeps whenever he says that.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

