The Blacklist Pilot Review

Standard

I know I am late to the party, but I just recently got into The Blacklist and wanted to give my thoughts on it. I am loving it so far, and think that it is a very thrilling and fun show.

Quick summary of the plot of the show. Raymond Reddington (James Spader), a criminal mastermind who is on the FBI’s Top Ten Most Wanted List surrenders himself to the FBI and offers his help to catch a terrorist who plans on kidnapping a military General’s daughter, but only on one condition, he will only talk to Rookie FBI Profiler, Elizabeth Keen (Megan Boone).

First off, I love James Spader, he is probably one of my favorite actors. He is very talented and has had a pretty successful career, so he definitely makes this show more enjoyable for me and the writing is pretty good as well.

When I was watching the pilot and was being introduced to the character of Raymond Reddington, I got a strong Hannibal Lecter vibe. I attribute this to the fact that Reddington is a very cunning, and intelligent character. You understand that he is helping the FBI take down some of the most dangerous criminals, but you get the feeling he has a hidden agenda, and can become a very dangerous adversary in the blink of an eye. Raymond Reddington is what makes The Blacklist must watch TV, because you never know what he is going to do next, and if he can really be trusted.

The dynamic between Elizabeth Keen (Megan Boone) and Raymond Reddington (James Spader) is very reminiscent of Hannibal Lecter and Clarice Starling. Their partnership is a very interesting one, and you can tell Elizabeth wants to trust Reddington, but she doesn’t want to be manipulated by him.

The Blacklist is a very exciting, and intense show filled with thrills and twists and the pilot was very enthralling and filled with edge of your seat excitement and that’s why I am giving it a 10/10!

Leave a Reply

